Have Questions? We Have Answers!
Browse through some frequently asked questions to learn more about Dragonfly and purchasing cannabis in Utah.
How do I become a patient at Dragonfly Wellness?
All first time patients, whether your have a letter or a medical cannabis card, are required to visit our 'Register With Us' page to become a patient. If your doctor did not provide a specific dosage, state law requires that you have a consultation with a pharmacist to discuss possible drug interactions with other pharmaceutical prescriptions you might be taking. This consultation is important to educate patients on the benefits of different dosage forms of medical cannabis allowed in the state of Utah.
How do I apply for a medical cannabis card in Utah?
We are unable to issue cards but we have put together a simple page with step by step instructions and helpful tips. Click here to be redirected.
Am I allowed to purchase medical cannabis in Utah with a letter of recommendation from my doctor?
No, all patients must have a medical cannabis card (MCC) to purchase cannabis in the state of Utah.
A letter of recommendation did allow patients to legally purchase medical cannabis in 2020. Starting January 1, 2021, all letters of recommendation are expired.
Click here for more information about applying for a MCC.
Can I use my letter of recommendation at multiple pharmacies?
Once a patient has registered a letter with a pharmacy, the patient may not purchase from another pharmacy until the patient applies and receives a medical cannabis card. Without a card, the state is unable to track the purchase history of each patient so it is the individual pharmacy’s responsibility to ensure compliance with the legal purchase limit for each patient. Letters of recommendation will only be valid until 12/31/2020. Beginning in 2021, all patients will need a medical cannabis card in order to legally purchase medical cannabis.
Does my letter of recommendation from my doctor allow me to qualify for a medical cannabis card?
Only a letter of recommendation from a doctor that is a QMP (Qualified Medical Provider) will qualify you for a medical cannabis card. Please consult with your medical provider and ask if they are a QMP that has completed the state required certification course. If you do not have a QMP, a list of providers can be found here.
How do I renew my Medical Cannabis Card?
You will have to renew your Medical Cannabis Card through the EVS once your status there has changed to “Pending Renewal”, and will have to pay a $5 fee. The new card will be available to print once the old card has expired. For detailed instruction, please visit our Patient Guide
How old do I have to be to legally purchase medical cannabis in Utah?
All card applications for patients under 21 years of age must be approved by the Compassionate Use Board. An individual may not enter a medical cannabis pharmacy unless the individual is at least 18 years old; AND possesses a valid medical cannabis card. A valid form of photo identification will be required for all patients entering the limited access area.
What factors go into the prices of medical cannabis products?
By having medical cannabis regulated, it ensures that the patients of Utah are always getting the best quality medicine that is free of pesticides, microbials, heavy metals, and solvents. However, with regulation comes costs that licensed companies must pay to operate their business. Some of those costs are license fees, seed-to-sale software fees, product liability insurance, etc. One of the most significant costs is the tax associated with Section 280E. Because medical cannabis is still federally illegal, Section 280E of the Internal Revenue Code forbids businesses from deducting otherwise ordinary business expenses from gross income associated with the “trafficking” of Schedule I or II substances, as defined by the Controlled Substances Act. Therefore, medical cannabis pharmacies are not allowed to deduct expenses like a normal business would.
What are the qualifying medical conditions that qualify me to receive a medical cannabis patient card in Utah?
HIV or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
persistent nausea that is not significantly responsive to traditional treatment, except for nausea related to:
cannabis-induced cyclical vomiting syndrome
cannabinoid hyperemesis syndrome
Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
epilepsy or debilitating seizures
multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms
post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) that is being treated and monitored by a licensed health therapist (defined here), and that:
has been diagnosed by a healthcare provider by the Veterans Administration and documented in the patient’s record; or
has been diagnosed or confirmed by evaluation from a psychiatrist, doctorate psychologist, a doctorate licensed clinical social worker, or a psychiatric APRN
a terminal illness when the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months
a condition resulting in the individual receiving hospice care
a rare condition or disease that affects less than 200,000 individuals in the U.S., as defined in federal law, and that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts using conventional medications (other than opioids or opiates) or physical interventions
pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed, in the qualified medical provider’s opinion, despite treatment attempts using conventional medications other than opioids or opiates or physical interventions
a condition that the compassionate use board approves (once established) on a case-by-case basis
What forms of medical cannabis products does the state allow?
With the medical cannabis program starting on March 1, there has been a limited supply of products available. However, you can expect the following forms available in the future:
Unprocessed cannabis flower
Concentrated oil (vape cartridges and RSO)
Gelatinous cubes (Edible products such as candies, cookies, and brownies are not permitted under Utah Code 26-61a-102 (32).)
Am I allowed to “smoke” medical cannabis flower?
Smoking of cannabis is not permitted but patients may purchase a medical cannabis device that warms cannabis material into a vapor without the use of a flame and delivers cannabis to an individual’s respiratory system.
What is the difference between baby buds, popcorn buds, and standard buds?
The difference between the varieties of buds are the overall size and quality. Baby buds are hand trimmed but smaller in size. Popcorn buds are typically untrimmed buds that don’t quite make the cut for quality in a standard bud. The standard buds are hand-trimmed beautiful buds that meet the size and quality criteria for premium flower.
What is your return policy on medical cannabis products and devices?
Medical Cannabis Products
We will always do our best to suggest products that may help you with your medical condition and we always stand behind our products. However, there is no return or exchange for medical cannabis flower, tinctures, topicals, concentrates or edibles as they are still considered controlled substances. We can only exchange products if they are defective or damaged*. If you ever have a question regarding a return, please reach out to us via our live chat on our website.
*All accepted returns/exchanges are subject to manager approval
Medical Cannabis Devices
You have 14 days to return any unused and unopened product with the original receipt. All returns are subject to a 10% restocking fee. Due to the nature of the devices that we sell, we cannot accept returns of any used products (for hygienic reasons). We strongly recommend doing thorough research on the product you are interested in. Feel free to come in and chat with any of our knowledgeable and experienced Wellness Associates.
Merchandise must be returned in the original manufacturer box with enclosed documentation
No returns will be accepted after 14 days of receipt date. All warranty claims must be placed directly through the manufacturer.